​​​​​​“. . . I wanted to be a hobo when I grew up!” 


​​Hobo-ing!  That's the life for me, I thought.  Total freedom to wander from place to place. Complete independence. Come and go as you please. Not having to answer to anybody but yourself. A life of adventure!

In the summer of 1979, I set out to make my dream a reality.

At last, the book—based on my real-life experiences—has just been released.  You can order it now on Amazon. You can start reading it by downloading a  FREE chapter.


Written especially for . . .

  • The young and restless (Age 16-106)
  • 1970s (and 1960s) nostalgia buffs
  • Those interested in the Detroit / Dearborn, Michigan perspective. 
  • Lovers of cars, trains, and ​Americana
  • Hardcore travelers. roadies, and pilgrims
  • Fans of Kerouac, Twain, Steinbeck, Fitzgerald . . .
  • Beatles, Dylan, and Springsteen fans



About the Book  /  FREE Chapter  /  Media  /  Contact

The Last Hobo book: “My highest dream, my mother’s worst nightmare . . .”


  • Get the inside scoop about author Dan Grajek and the rest of his Last Hobo book trilogy. Think of it like the “special features” option on a DVD. 
  • ​Via email
  • Your email address will never be shared.

THE LAST HOBO: A Clueless Detroit Kid Hitchhikes across America the Summer the Seventies Ran Out of Gas
by Dan Grajek • Published by Round Barn Media, LLC • 2016 
soft cover • 346 pages • ISBN: 978-0-9973247-0-9 • $15.99

FREE CHAPTER!






Copyright © 2016, Round Barn Media LLC