The Last Hobo book: “My highest dream, my mother’s worst nightmare . . .”

​​​​​​“. . . I wanted to be a hobo when I grew up!” 


​​Hobo-ing!  That's the life for me, I thought.  Total freedom to wander from place to place. Complete independence. Come and go as you please. Not having to answer to anybody but yourself. A life of adventure!

In the summer of 1979, I set out to make my dream a reality.

At last, the book—based on my real-life experiences—has just been released.  You can order it now on Amazon. You can start reading it by downloading a  FREE chapter.


Written especially for . . .

  • The young and restless (Age 16-106)
  • 1970s (and 1960s) nostalgia buffs
  • Those interested in the Detroit / Dearborn, Michigan perspective. 
  • Lovers of cars, trains, and ​Americana
  • Hardcore travelers. roadies, and pilgrims
  • Fans of Kerouac, Twain, Steinbeck, Fitzgerald . . .
  • Beatles, Dylan, and Springsteen fans



About the Book  /  FREE Chapter  /  Media  /  Contact

THE LAST HOBO: A Clueless Detroit Kid Hitchhikes across America the Summer the Seventies Ran Out of Gas
by Dan Grajek • Published by Round Barn Media, LLC • 2016 
soft cover • 346 pages • ISBN: 978-0-9973247-0-9 • $15.99

FREE CHAPTER!






Copyright © 2016, Round Barn Media LLC


  • Get the inside scoop about author Dan Grajek and the rest of his Last Hobo book trilogy. Think of it like the “special features” option on a DVD. 
  • ​Via email
  • Your email address will never be shared.

NEW! FREE CHAPTER OF UPCOMING NEW BOOK: 

The Last Hobo Meets the Moon People:

A Dearborn, Michigan student ponders the meaning of life

READ MY JAW DROPPING ACCOUNT of my escape from the Unification Church aka the Moonies — the original "doomsday cult"— back in 1979.  My upcoming book is a coming-of-age story about my physical and spiritual journey from the perspective of Dearborn, the home of Henry Ford—and America's oldest, largest, and most influential Muslim community. Forget every thing you read about my town. Readers will get the inside scoop!